I went to the Philippines recently and was looking for some fun, easy beach reads. These are a couple of the books that were suggested to me and that I actually read despite my usual distaste for all things pop culture.

mindyIs Everybody Hanging out without me? by Mindy Kaling – I love, love, love Mindy Kaling, and that love affair began with this book. Because of this book, I bought the album Blue by Joni Mitchell and fell in love with the song “California.” I also got a strong case of paranoia about one-night stands and learned that I am not the only one who cannot commit to a relationship unless it has the makings of a romantic comedy.  I would say this is a highly relatable book for most women and if you like Mindy Kaling’s humor, you will like it even more in book form – and you will be able to hear her voice in your head as you are reading. It’s a little disconcerting, but just goes to show how well she knows herself and is able to convey her voice to the world, even on paper.

Life as I Blow it by Sarah Colonna – Somehow I thought this book was by Chelsea Handler when I first saw it on blowitthe shelf in my office’s English books library. Turns out, it is not by Chelsea, but by one of the writers from her show. I’m not sure this was my favorite book ever, but it is a fun easy read for the beach. There are a couple of really funny essays in there, along with a lot of stories about guys being jerks to her and some awkward sex stories.

bossypantsBossy Pants by Tina Fey – Who doesn’t love Tina Fey? This is sort of a memoir about Tina’s career. I like her ability to laugh at herself and her strong opinions about women in comedy. After reading this book I felt that Tina Fey was much more multi-dimensional and I appreciated her frankness in the book. This is another quick read, but a fun one.

