shenzhen Shenzhen is a graphic novel by Guy Delisle, a Canadian who spent 3 months living in Shenzhen when it was still in its nascence. Perhaps because the storyline so closely resembles my own life in China, I thought this book was clever and witty from start to finish. I laughed out loud, and showed this book to numerous friends here in Shenyang, who then passed it on to others. A number of us have also bought copies to send to friends and family as gifts so that they can see what our lives are like here. However, I am not sure that the humor would translate if one has not experienced what it is to live in a developing city in China.

To me, this book illustrates China to a T. I have had nearly every experience Delisle recounts in his book. I also especially loved the random drawings throughout of buildings being built. And I loved the random “Hello” bubbles that pop up everywhere. This is especially humorous because Delisle is French-speaking, but it is assumed that all foreigners are English speakers. I read the French version of this, but it appears it is available in English as well (Yay for you!). This is one of those books that passes by too quickly and that I had to force myself to put down because I didn’t want it to end. I loved it and have gone back to it time and again for a quick laugh. I cannot wait to get my hands on some more of his books when I get to Switzerland…

