A Forgotten Photo from Leslie Callan

When I was younger I was one of those people who would flip to the last page of a book to see how it ends when things started to go poorly for the main character. Not knowing whether s/he would live or die, or whether s/he would end up happily ever after would give me the worst kind of anxiety – like, I couldn’t sleep because I was trying to work out how they could get out of whatever shenanigans they’d gotten themselves into. It was a real problem, but somehow I’ve learned to be content with letting the story play out as I’ve gotten older. This is most likely because nearly all American novels have happy endings. Or maybe it’s my unending belief that things always work out for the best, despite my negative attitude in many parts of my life.

With that said, this was one of the hardest goodbyes I think I’ve ever had and it’s because I’m not content with letting the story play out with me and a certain boy. I SO wish our story was written in a book so I could look at the last page and see how it ends. Unfortunately, I don’t have that luxury so I’m just going to have to hope for the best. I know we’ve only known each other a short while, but it’s the one uncertainty I’m leaving behind. Don’t get me wrong, I’m going to miss you all dearly. But I know you’ll be here for me when I get back (Right?!). You’re my family and I love you all and wish I could pack you up in my bags to take with me, but I’ll be back before you know it. In the meantime I will try my best to keep you updated on my goings-on.

Hugs and kisses,

Becca

