A couple of Christians just knocked on my door offering to pray for somebody in my life that needs prayers, or even to pray for me. I told them I couldn’t think of anybody. “Really, not even yourself? You’re happy with your life? You have all the money you want? You’re…” I cut him off saying, “Actually, yes. I think about how great my life is every single day.” He looked at me, surprised and said, “Really?” “I’m really lucky,” I replied. I don’t think they believed me, but it’s the honest truth. I can’t remember the last time I was this happy and optimistic.

Let’s be honest: A year ago I was angry at the world. Bitter. Depressed. And just plain unpleasant to be around. Everyone I knew would try to convince me about how great my life was but I just wasn’t hearing it. I was stuck in a rut that I felt like I was never going to escape.

Somehow, though, I did escape. I can’t even really pinpoint what it is that changed my perspective. I think it was a combination of a number of events, really, that got me out of my funk…

Even though I’m not practicing anymore, it all started with yoga. In my yoga classes, the teachers got me to question a lot of things about my attitude and how it was effecting my life and my relationships with others. For whatever reason those “deep” questions made me realize how much my anger at my ex-boyfriend was effecting everything I did and to no end. Me being angry at him did nothing to him, but it was poisoning my life. Me finally being able to let that go was a huge first step in getting back to the old me – and in allowing me to really open myself up to meeting somebody new.

The next thing, of course, was realizing I really could save up enough money for extended travel, then taking the steps to actually make it happen. Then I met the new boy, which has been amazing (but also super sad since I’m leaving). Those small things really helped to make me more positive and really see how lucky I am. I was finally able to see past my sadness and see what it was that my friends had been trying to help me see for more than a year. And I truly believe that my better attitude is what has brought so many other great things in recent months. So, yes, Crazy Christians, I really do love my life. It’s pretty amazing and I really don’t think I can ask for much more than what I have right now (and I don’t think I deserve to).

P.S. I can’t believe that guy’s response was to ask me if I have all the money I want. Who asks someone to pray for them to get more money? I thought that was really weird.

