Recently, my friends and I have circled the subject of movie remakes on several occasions – usually with the conversation being started by someone outraged by a recently announced movie remake (Footloose, anyone?). In the ensuing conversations a number of movies have come up that we feel would cross the line as going too far in the movie remake genre. Here’s my list:

Should Never Be Remade
1. The Princess Bride
2. Ferris Buehler’s Day Off
3. Dirty Dancing
4. Pretty Woman
5. The Goonies

(Note: I did not include the “Duh” movies like Star Wars and Indiana Jones, but I’m well aware that these movies would incite riots if they were ever to be remade.)

Movies that Would Have Been on the List if some asshole hadn’t already done a remake
1. Karate Kid
2. Footloose (although I never saw the original, I recognize it as an iconic movie)

Movies that were actually worth the remake
1. Batman (although I loved the Michael Keaton versions)

Movies that would benefit from a remake
1. Highlander

I wanted to have five for each category, but, as we all know, my pop culture knowledge is VERY limited. I’m curious though: What would you add to these lists?

