This is not my community pool.

This is not my community pool.

So… I’ve been having a ton of pain in the knuckle of my big toe lately. Super not fun for a runner. I’m not certain about the cause, but WebMD tells me it could be one of the following: bone spur (need surgery, super not fun), gout (change my diet completely), or a forming bunion (best option if one must be chosen). I’m going with bunion for now and I’m pretty sure if that’s the case then it’s being caused by my oh-so-uncomfortable rock climbing shoes (which I am definitely not giving up despite the pain). With that said, I’ve decided to take on some low impact exercising (read: swimming) to take some of the strain off my poor little feetsies and release them from their shoe prisons while I train for this next marathon.

I don’t know about you, but I HATE the summer heat. I mean, I get up at 5 a.m. to go run before work and it’s already too hot out. Maybe that is just me… Anywho, I still think I chose the best time ever to decide to take up swimming (104 degrees F in Sacramento today?!). And, the best news is I don’t even have to belong to a gym or a fancy country club. I did a search for public pools in Sacramento and there are A TON – and it’s only $2 for lap swimming. Sign me up already! Actually, even better news: The pool  right in the center of the park where I run (which I somehow never knew existed until now) is HUGE. It’s 12 lanes of glorious coolness just waiting for me to escape the summer heat. Trust me, this is the best “hidden secret” of Sacramento that I have yet discovered. Thank you public tax dollars for actually doing something useful.

