Sunflower Closeup, originally uploaded by bexadler.

Lately I’ve been trying to make positive changes, many of which come from things I hear in yoga. Whether they are because of yoga or not, I do feel better and a lot less angry than I have in years. It doesn’t really matter how cheesy and new agey the things are that my yoga instructors say during class, they often hit me in a profound way and make me feel very grounded. Last night I had one of those moments when the yogi said, “Stop wishing that things were different and start living in the world that is.”

Like I said, I realize how cliche these words can sound on paper, but somehow in that moment in yoga they really struck a chord with me. I spend far too much of my time thinking about the past and how if I’d just done this or that differently then my life might be where I’d expected it to be at age 30. But the truth of the matter is that I can never go back in the past – and, when I really think about it, I like my life just the way it is. I mean, I have a pretty awesome life (at least, if you ask me). This was just another reminder to me that I need to stay focused on the present and leave the past in the past. Oooooohm.

