For as long as I can remember I’ve been talking about taking a trip around the world but have never had the stick-to-it-ness to save up the money…until recently. It came as a sort of challenge from the most recent man to break my heart. I was talking wistfully about the never-going-to-happen trip around the world and he said to me, “Rebecca, look at your life. Anything you really want you make happen. Saving up for that trip isn’t any different than training for this marathon. I know you. If you really wanted it, you’d be taking that trip around the world.”

And the second he said it, I knew he was right.

I had been talking about this trip forever, but had made no real effort to get myself there. I don’t know if it was fear that was holding me back. Or possibly, knowing that everybody would yet again be disappointed in me for “running away.” But I took his comment as a sort of dare. I had to prove to myself that this really was something I wanted and I was willing to put the effort into making it happen. So back in August or so I began socking away money. I’m not quite there yet, but I’ve set myself a deadline: September 5, the day I leave for New Zealand.

It wasn’t originally my intention to kick off my round-the-world trip with this trip to New Zealand. In fact, I bought round-trip tickets. But the more I think about it, the more sense it makes. If I’m already going to be that far away from home, this might be my chance to make it happen. And if I chicken out and use that return ticket home? Well, then I’m never allowing myself to talk about going around the world again. It’s time to sh*t or get off the pot, so to speak. So I’m going to bite the bullet. I’ve already listed all of my books on Amazon and am beginning to photograph all of my belongings for sale on Craigslist and other online outlets. I’m not going to keep storage this time: It’s too much of a temptation to come back home. Even my bed is going to go – the bed I’ve been carting around with me for 10 years because I don’t think I’ll ever be able to afford another one quite so beautiful and so perfectly me.

Yes, I’m scared to death. I have a great job with great benefits. I have a perfect little apartment that is gorgeously decorated. I have savings for the first time in my life. Everything is AMAZING. And I’m scared to death that I’ll never have all of these things again. BUT I keep telling myself that I was able to accumulate all of these things in just one year, upon returning from Istanbul with nothing – not a dime to my name. ONE YEAR. If I can do it once, I can do it again. That’s all I really need to know.

