Day 30 – The All-Day Brunch, originally uploaded by bexadler.

In my group of friends, we used to have a Sunday tradition of getting bloody marys and brunch to shake off the hangovers from the weekend. We called it Going to Church. We grew older, moved to different parts of the city (or out of the state – Melissa Dahl, I’m looking at you!), and took on too many responsibilities to keep Going to Church regularly. Sometimes I miss those days though, so when I do get a chance to get brunch with somebody, I definitely take the opportunity.

This Sunday was no exception. A friend and I were stranded at my place with only our bikes to get us around. In 102-degree heat, he didn’t want to make the trek all the way to his house by bike until later, so instead we decided to get some brunch at Tower Cafe (one of the best brunch menus in town). Two bloody marys in and we decided to shirk all of our responsibilities for the day and drink instead. We headed over to Hangar 17 with the promise of $5 endless mimosas in our sights, only to find out that you had to buy breakfast to get that deal, so we decided to get real drinks instead. Pictured here is my empty vodka collins. Our brunch ended up taking up the remainder of our day. Even though I didn’t really get anything done, this was one of the best Sundays I’ve had in a long time.

