While it sounds pretty unappealing, running in the rain isn’t so bad. It can actually be quite invigorating. Yesterday was a rainy day here in Sacramento and I had some passing thoughts of not going out for my run. It was only two miles though and only the second day of my official training so my determination won out (thankfully). The run wasn’t bad at all. In fact, it was quite the opposite. I’ve always found that I run faster in cold weather, and it was no different this time. It actually gave me a chance to play (splashing in puddles anyone?) while I ran AND I had the roads pretty much all to myself since everyone else seemed to have opted for dryer running spaces. Best of all, I completed one of my fastest runs (with one of my fastest miles to date) yesterday. It was really motivating, actually, to see that I can still run a 9:30 mile when the circumstances are right (short run, cool weather, no allergies). It’s got me excited for my other upcoming short runs. 🙂

Yesterday’s stats:
Distance: 2 miles
Time: 20:02
Avg Pace: 9:58
Calories: 220

