Today’s run was a success, in that I ran a mile more than I had scheduled. The sad news is that only 4.5 miles of my 5-mile run was recorded on my iPod because it suddenly quit during my run. It just completely shut off and had to be rebooted. This is my second iPod nano that has had problems and I’m beginning to be really sad about the whole Apple company. I mean, I get that their looking out for their bottom line by creating products that have to be constantly repurchased by consumers, but as a consumer I find it to be both dishonest and incredibly inconvenient. Not only do I have to spend $100 or more on a product, but I can pretty much guarantee that none of the accessories for said product will be available through Apple anymore and that the product will break within two or three years. I’ve had problems finding armbands for my “old” iPods and can’t get a case for my 1G iPhone and it really frustrates me. What shocks me most about this predicament is that other consumers seem to be happy to constantly throw their money away on updating these products that look like they should last longer than a few short years. And what of the environment?!

But I digress… Back to the run. It was another windy day here in Sacramento, which meant not much of a reprieve for my allergies. Also, I had to run at 3 p.m. because of dinner plans, which meant it was HOT. I did a lot of run-walking today, but I’m still proud of making it to 5 miles. I’ve been telling myself that running/walking in intervals is OK because I’m just gearing up. I don’t want to injure myself before the actual training begins (and hopefully not after either!). Tomorrow I’m going to try to keep it at 3 miles since I won’t have a rest day. I’m trying to get in 15 miles a week and I started late in the week (Tuesday) so I’m playing catch up. Hopefully next week the runs will be better spaced with some shorter runs thrown in.

Anyway, stats for today:

Today’s Run:
Distance: 4.5 miles (actually 5, but no stats on the first 1/2 mile – thanks Apple)
Total Time: 57:23
Avg. Pace:  12:42
Calories: 496

