Wow, I can’t believe it’s been more than a year since I’ve checked in here. I’ve still been running, albeit intermittently. I never really got my groove back after my shin splints fiasco, and then I moved to Istanbul for six months, where running was near impossible. But I’ve been gearing back up since I returned in February and now I’m finally (almost) ready to start training again for a marathon. I put together my training schedule this morning on Nike+. It’s a 28 week regime, starting May 24th and ending on race day for the CIM, December 5th. The schedule looks incredibly frightening for someone who’s averaged about 9 miles a week for the last three months, but I’m determined to make it happen.

Part of my success plan is to gear up before the actual training starts. My goal is to run 15 miles a week for the next three weeks to get myself ready. Today was the first day of that plan, and let me tell you, it was tough. I’ve been feeling sluggish and tired a lot lately (due to a new early work schedule). The heat wasn’t doing me any favors either. I took a nap after work though and set my alarm for 5:30, when I felt like it might be cooled off enough outside for me to run. I admit I hit the snooze button quite a few times, but then I had a little talk with myself that went like this: “Becca, today is the FIRST day of your new determination to run. You can’t mess it up already!” So I dragged myself out of bed and got out the door. I’m recovering from a cold and my allergies were definitely not on my side, but I managed.

There was a lot of walking in there, which is always disappointing to me, but I have to remember this is only the beginning. I know I’ll get better, and that’s why I decided to start writing here again. I was going to get a notebook to keep a log of my training, but I don’t want to waste the paper, so I’m going to do it here.

Today’s Run:
Distance: 3 miles
Total Time: 34:50
Avg. Pace:  11:33
Calories: 330

