I can’t believe how long it’s been since I posted to this blog. I’ve been super busy with grad school and what-not, but I am definitely still running. I’ve been putting in about 10 miles per week, which is a huge step down from my training days, but it’s the only way I can continue to run without getting shin splints. I haven’t done any races in a while though, so that’s going to be one of my goals in the next couple of months. I really want to get excited about running again and I think that signing up for a couple of races will be a great way to do that.

For those of you who live in Sacramento, there’s going to be a FREE 5K at Sacramento State on April 16th. I love anything free, so I’ll definitely be doing that one. I’m also signing up for the Nike Women’s 5K at the capitol again this year. It was one of my favorite races last year AND they have tons of great goodies. I use the gym bag I got there last year all the time.

Even though I haven’t been running quite as many miles, I’ve had a breakthrough in my running: I finally beat the 10-minute mile. Never in my younger years did I think I’d ever run faster than a 14-minute mile, yet here I am running a consistant 10:30 and finally beating that 10-minute marker that has plagued me for months. I think I posted about running a 9:59 a couple of months ago, but last week I ran a 9:36! For you faster runners this may not seem like a huge deal, but for me it’s mega huge. I’ve always been a slow runner and I take these milestones with me like trophies. Anyway, I’m super excited to still be improving my pace even with only a couple of 3-mile runs per week.

How about you? Any new milestones in your training?