Ugh, so I just read this blog by some guy (of course) about abortion and how women are always “crying” about women’s rights in the name of “legalized murder.” The guy seems like a pretty decent guy normally, but I could not believe how ignorant he was about abortion. He even wrote that women use abortion as a form of birth control, which is probably true for about .000001 percent of women. He also wrote that rape would be the only case in which he would support a woman having an abortion. Anywho, it of course enraged me and inspired the following comment, which is pretty much more like a blog post in itself, so I thought I’d post it, since you all LOVE when I post abortion blogs (come on, admit it, you love the drama). Here’s what I wrote:

This post is obviously from the viewpoint of a man. I don’t feel that I’m “crying” about women’s rights when I say that I believe women should have a right to choose. Personally, I don’t think I could have an abortion, but I also don’t think I have the right to tell someone else they can’t. There are numerous reasons a woman may NEED to have an abortion, not just rape. Not only that, but I would much prefer that women be able to have an abortion if they can’t take care of a child than I would that they have a child and raise it in poverty or add to the overpopulation of the world for no reason.

Furthermore, if you really want to complain about the reason women are having abortions as a “form of birth control,” then what needs to be addressed is the lack of proper sexual education in this country. The number one thing we can do to stop unwanted babies from being born without abortion is to teach men and women how to prevent those pregnancies in the first place. I sincerely doubt that there are millions of women out there though who are running down to the abortion clinic every time they get pregnant though. If they were, there wouldn’t be so many children living in poverty and in foster care programs.

Having an abortion is not a decision I think any woman takes lightly and is highly emotional. Add to that the fact that anti-abortion activists are constantly throwing it in our faces, and you can see that this isn’t a decision any woman (or couple, for that matter) makes without putting some serious thought into it. Although abortion is legal in this country, it is still a highly stigmatized procedure. And, just remember that without it, all of those women who were desperate for an abortion would probably try to perform it in their own home and would likely die from it. This is one of the main reasons abortion was legalized in the first place.

I think it’s far too easy for people to completely discount the benefits of living in a country that allows abortions, especially when they haven’t been faced with that awful decision. Just a little extra thought and critical thinking could show them that being pro-choice is not the same as being pro-legalized murder, no matter how much the anti-abortion people want you to believe that.

