Do you guys remember when I sold my car and wrote that blog about how I sold the car because of the epiphany I had one day that I had my car only to get to my job and had my job only to pay for my car? Well, in the last couple weeks, since Tony broke up with me, I’ve realized what a pain in the ass it can be to not have a car at your disposal at all. I feel like I live on Suburbia Island right now. I’m pretty well stranded out here. I mean, there isn’t even a grocery store within walking distance of my house. It was obviously people with cars who designed neighborhoods in this manner.

Anyway, what this means is I’ve been looking into buying used cars and motorcycles. I’ve been considering getting my motorcycle’s license and trying to figure out how it would work financially. And what I just figured out is that even if I bought a motorcycle (less expensive than a car) I’d have to get a “real” job to make the payments, so once again I’d be in the frustrating paradox of working to keep my vehicle and having my vehicle almost solely for the purpose of going to work. And then there’s the added stress of figuring out what the heck I’d do with that vehicle during my time in Istanbul. So, um, I guess what I’ve decided is that I’d rather get straight A’s again next semester than to buy a vehicle. I’ll just have to get well versed in the ways of buses and light rail, which really isn’t that bad, except for the sad fact that the bus to my house only operates until 8 p.m.

