So, on Sunday I decided to go for a short run (only 2 miles!) to get my shoes a little more broken in before the big race on Sunday. And, well, now my shin is hurting again. Yesterday during my swim workout every kick of my breast stroke pulled hard at my shin and hurt. I’m sad about this on so many levels. I’m worried I’ll never be able to run well, or long, again. I’m upset that I lost $50 on registration when I likely won’t be able to run the race. Most of all I’m just disappointed. I’m going to go in and see if I can change over to the 5K and at least get that in on Sunday, but I think it’s a really bad idea to attempt 13  miles when my shin is hurting from doing just two.

I guess there’s always next year. If I start training at a quarter of a mile right now, I might be able to make it to race day next year injury free…

