It’s been a long time since I’ve said I’m out of shape, but the time has come to acknowledge it. Being out of running shoes for the past 8 weeks has put a real damper on my energy level and motivation to exercise. I’ve gotten out a couple of times for random cross training, but my heart hasn’t really been in it. And the lack of movement really showed today when I rode my bike to my Grad School Orientation today. The ride, which only took me about 15-20 minutes when I tried it out last month, took about 25 minutes this morning. I was WINDED. And sweating profusely after barely making it up the MANY hills I hadn’t really noticed the first time around. Remember all that complaining I did about how biking really isn’t that great of a workout? Well, apparently it is – you just don’t notice it when you’re a full-time runner.

Now that I know that I’m actually getting a good workout with these rides, I’m feeling more motivated to get with the program. I’m also getting pumped up because grad school starts next week, which means two bike rides a day, four times a week, along with two one-hour swim sessions per week. Hopefully this will strengthen my supporting muscles an finally get me out of the shin splints funk.

I was also wondering how many of you signed up for the Nike+ Human Race this weekend. I signed up for it and my leg has been feeling better (not that I’ve tried to run on it to test that theory) so I think I’m going to go for it. It’s only  a 10K so I think I can get through it. But don’t worry, I won’t run through pain (thanks to the dreaded advice from my doctor). But if it’s feeling good, I’m going to go for it. Then I’m planning on doing the cross training and slowly working back into a real running schedule. Who knows? Maybe I’ll be able to at least walk that half marathon in October…

