Sunday, June 15th, 2008


First I’d like to announce the winner of the signed copy of The Nonrunner’s Marathon Guide for Women. And the winner is … Laura! Just email me your address to bexadler at yahoo dot com and I’ll send it out to you.

This week in running went a lot better than last week. I did my long run today (4.5 miles) and it wasn’t too bad. I’m not looking forward to adding more mileage, but hopefully if I ease into it I’ll be able to run 10 miles no problem in a couple of weeks. I’ve decided to change up my running schedule a bit to make Sunday my long run day because it just never works out on Saturdays.

I’ve also finally been able to add in some cross training. I know it’s important to do cross training, but it has been difficult for me because pretty much any sport aside from running takes equipment of some sort. But one of my friend’s has access to an olympic sized pool and has offered to let me swim there once a week in exchange for swim coaching. I think it’s a pretty fair deal. My swimming is way off these days though. I used to be able to swim 100 laps a day and I only managed to do 24 laps on Saturday.

OK then, sorry for the short update. I’ve been really sleepy today. Getting up early for a run is tiring, isn’t it?

My totals for this week:

Week 2 mileage: 13.72
Average Pace: 11:35
Total Training Miles: 22.87

Goals for next week: I’m going to do an 8K on Sunday, hopefully as part of a race and I want to add five miles to my total for the week, putting me at about 19 miles for week 3. My knee has been acting up though so I’ve gotta be careful. Also, I found a couple of new running buddies so hopefully that will keep me inspired.

What’s your running schedule look like?

Heh. Now that I look at it, the title of this blog probably made you think we were going to have an infestation of Australian wildlife in the United States. Alas, that’s not the case. It’s something way better. The Wombats are probably the best band you haven’t heard of. They are a British band, conveniently made up of four guys from Liverpool.

I was IN LOVE with this band when I was living in France, but have been unable to purchase their CD because it’s been unavailable to Americans. Neither Amazon nor iTunes would take my hard earned dollars to give me this fab music, but I just learned that their CD is going to be released in the states on June 24. I’m SO totally stoked about this and I wanted to share the joy with you. Perhaps they’re already playing their music on the radio here. I wouldn’t know because I don’t have a radio. So if this is old news to you I apologize. I was just too excited to keep it to myself. I’ve already pre-ordered my copy of “A Guide to Love, Loss and Desperation” and I can’t wait to add it to my running mix.

For those of you who don’t know who The Wombats are, but do have radios, click here for a preview of what you will hear every hour on the hour for the coming months.