I’d never heard of Hillary Carlip until yesterday when I was perusing The Book Pirate’s blog. He did a review of Carlip’s second book, A la Cart: The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers, and now I’m obsessed with finding a copy of this for my future coffee table.

A la Cart is essentially Carlip’s interpretation of discarded grocery lists she’s been collecting for years. Based on what the people were planning to buy she guess who they were and what their lives were like. Not only does she describe these people, but she dresses up as them as she goes to the store to buy their items. On the front cover are just three of the photos of her at the grocery store. If the rest are this good, I can’t wait to see the whole book. For more info on this book, check out the review on The Book Pirate.

Also, in case you missed it, I’m having my second giveaway. If you click here and leave a comment by June 15 you’ll be entered to win a free signed copy of The Nonrunner’s Marathon Guide for Women.

