Wednesday, June 11th, 2008


I’d never heard of Hillary Carlip until yesterday when I was perusing The Book Pirate’s blog. He did a review of Carlip’s second book, A la Cart: The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers, and now I’m obsessed with finding a copy of this for my future coffee table.

A la Cart is essentially Carlip’s interpretation of discarded grocery lists she’s been collecting for years. Based on what the people were planning to buy she guess who they were and what their lives were like. Not only does she describe these people, but she dresses up as them as she goes to the store to buy their items. On the front cover are just three of the photos of her at the grocery store. If the rest are this good, I can’t wait to see the whole book. For more info on this book, check out the review on The Book Pirate.

Also, in case you missed it, I’m having my second giveaway. If you click here and leave a comment by June 15 you’ll be entered to win a free signed copy of The Nonrunner’s Marathon Guide for Women.

SO, I’ve been looking over my half marathon training schedule and I’ve been wondering two things:

1. Why does it take the same amount of time to train for a half marathon as it does to train for a marathon?

2. If I’m going to put myself through the rigors of training for a half marathon, and a half marathon is part of training for a marathon, why don’t I just go full throttle on this thing?

But then this thinking gets me to thinking: Yeah, but why the heck would I want to do that?

All joking aside, I am seriously considering making my half marathon part of training for a full marathon. I’ve been wanting to do a marathon for a long time. My original plan was to train for a half this year, then attempt to train for a full next year, then really do a full the following year. However, as I’ve commenced my training and begun to feel the pain that is TRAINING, I’m not sure I’ll be able to talk myself into training for anything else ever again. I still have a couple of weeks to think about it though. The sign-up for Fleet Feet’s marathon training program for the race I want to do isn’t until June 30. That gives me some time to mull it over and decide whether I’m willing to prolong my pain.

Really though, the deciding factor, as always in my life, will be whether I can pony up the cash for both the training program and the entry fees for the half and full marathons. I’ll let you know what I decide. And any advice, suggestions, encouragement (or discouragement) is definitely welcome here. Let me know what you think!