I finally finished my temp job last week, which is a huge relief because now I don’t have any responsibilities other than watering the lawn and taking Coco for a run. That’s the kind of life I like. I was no good with that temp job anyway: In the four weeks I was there I think I called in sick five times, plus I even had a day off for Memorial Day. I’m just not meant for “real” work.

Speaking of Memorial Day, I just found out that I beat my best time ever on a 5K that day. The week prior I had gotten 34:18 as you may recall, then on Memorial Day I got 34:01. Awesome! I did another 5K this weekend, but I’m not sure what my chip time was yet. My time crossing the finish was 34:49, but my actual time (my chip time) will be lower because it compensates for the time it took me to cross the start line. If you’d like to read more about my running adventures, plus reviews about everything running (energy drinks, training schedules, the joys of BodyGlide), check out this link. Update: I just found out I got 34:01 on this weekend’s 5K too! I’m so stoked that my time is becoming consistent. Now all I want is to break that damn 34-minute time!

Sorry I haven’t been posting on here much. Myspace has been a pain for me to get on lately and is really, really super slow when I’m able to log on. Plus, it erases my blogs half the time so I’ve all but given up on it. (Note to wordpress readers: This was moved over from my myspace blog, therefore the inconsistancy.)

I did want to say something on here for real though, but now I can’t remember what that was.

So, uh, anybody read any good books lately?

I’m reading In Cold Blood by Truman Capote at the moment and it’s freaking me out. I’ve had some trouble sleeping at night because Tony is housesitting for his boss and I’m here all alone reading about these two psychopaths that killed four people just for the hell of it. Seriously, it’s upsetting. Really well written though AND I never knew that Capote was, like, the inventor of true crime stories. I’m not really that into true crime novels though because, as stated above, they freak me out. I hate knowing that people are really capable of this kind of stuff, and that they laugh about it. Ick.

Also, I recently read The Pact by Jodi Picoult. Another one that freaked me out because of a child molestation scene. I cannot get it out of my mind. Seriously, there are moments when I wish I could just scrub memories from my brain. I really, really do.

I need a suggestion for a happy book with rainbows and fairies, or something. Seriously. The only way to get this horrible-ness off my mind is to replace it with happy thoughts. Ick. There is a reason I’ve never read Clockwork Orange. Just gotta keep reminding myself of that.

