LodiHalfer2007Today marks the official beginning of my half marathon training. To be perfectly honest, I’m a bit nervous about it. I have been running for almost two years now and, although I run between one and two miles every day or so, I’ve never actually “trained” for anything. I kind of just sign up for races at random and give it my best when I get there. But last year when I tried for my first half marathon (May 2007) I realized that if I’m going to ever do one again I’m going to have to actually put some effort into it.

Just to give you a picture of what it was like at that first halfer: I walked a good 6 miles of the race. An 80-year-old man with a walker finished a good hour before me. And I finished in 3 hours, 15 minutes – a good 45 minutes after my goal time.  I also ran with a hangover and only 4 hours of sleep. And I ended up with 3 blisters and some chafing on my arms from my iPod armband and my fat rubbing together. I do look happy in my finishing picture though, don’t you think?

So this year, I’ve decide to take on a training plan and, because I know I’m super lazy, I’ve given myself 18 weeks to complete it. That’s a good 6 weeks longer than any training plan I’ve seen. Another reason for giving myself extra time is so I can ease into it. I’m extremely paranoid about injury and I’d hate to have to drop out of training because I pushed myself too hard.

Each Sunday I’ll be giving you an update of where I am with my training and how I did the week before. This is really more for me than for anything else. I figure the accountability of a weekly recap will keep me motivated, being as I really don’t want to have an entry that says, “Gave up running and gorged myself on brownies to ease the pain of disappointment,” instead of cheering for myself over having accomplished my weekly goal.

Oh, so my weekly goal: This week I plan to run 35 minutes every other day (4 days) and end on Sunday with a 5K at the Capitol (The Nike Women’s Fitness Festival). My goal at the 5K is to meet or beat my previous best time of 34:18.

