I am SO stressed out right now. I just got an email from my grad school advisor letting me know that one of my required courses is full already … and I don’t get to register for two more months! How do I already have complaints about Sac State and I haven’t even started back there yet? I went in today to talk to the registration office about this problem, hoping that they’d say only the undergrad seats were taken but that they hold a few seats for grad students (they don’t). My advisor is currently trying to get the dean to add a second section of the class, but if it doesn’t work out I’m going to have to take 12 units across two semesters, therefore dragging out my grad program and wasting money I don’t have to waste. Super sad for sure!

Some good news though (sort of) is that I’m going to have a regular nine to five (well actually it’s 8:30 to 4:30) for the next couple of weeks. I’m going to be correcting the essay sections of standardized tests. Super fun, huh? I’m actually really looking forward to it. I had tons of assignments last month from a couple of magazines and am really ready for a mental break … and some regular income.

OK, last thing: For any of you knitters or crocheters out there, I want to put together some afghans for Warm Up America, who has teamed up with the Ronald McDonald House to provide pretty blankets for the children they help. What I need from you is a commitment to make SEVEN squares at 9″ by 7″ each. And they need to be made out of synthetic yarn (aka not wool). You can get some ideas for patterns here. Please let me know if you plan to participate and I’ll send you my address (if you’re far away) or we’ll schedule a get-together (if you’re close). I’m going to set an arbitrary deadline so this doesn’t drag on for months without any results. SO that means you need to get your SEVEN squares to me by JULY 12. That gives you two months, or about enough time to do one square a week.

OK then, talk to you all soon!

