It’s getting to the end of the year and I don’t think I’m going to finish book 39 before we get to 2008. For those of you who are looking for good books to read, I thought I’d do a little recap of the books I’ve read this year. I thought I’d do a star system to let you know what I thought of them, but I decided instead just to denote the ones I think are really worth you reading. My top rated books (the one’s I think you should get from the library ASAP) are in bold and have five stars.

OK then, here we go.

1. Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner *
2. A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers (rated Rebecca’s least favorite book of the year)
3. Naked by David Sedaris *
4. Shopaholic and Baby by Sophie Kinsella * (note: this is chic lit. note: read the whole series not just this one)
5. The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf
6. No Longer at Ease by Chinua Achebe * (note: I’d suggest Things Fall Apart if you’ve never read anything by Achebe before)
7. Garbage Land by Elizabeth Royte *****
8. The 101 Most Influential People Who Never Lived by Dan Karlan, Allan Lazar and Jeremy Salter
9. Falling Through the Earth by Danielle Trussoni ***** (rated Rebecca’s No. 1 book of the year.)
10. A Man Without a Country by Kurt Vonnegut
11. Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
12. Baby Not on Board by Jennifer L. Shawne
13. Leaving Microsoft to Change the World by John Wood
14. Candyfreak by Steve Almond *
15. The Life and Times of the Thunderbold Kid by Bill Bryson
16. Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris *
17. A Year in the Merde by Stephen Clarke (rated Rebecca’s second worst book of the year)
18. Dreams of My Father by Barack Obama
19. Happiness Sold Separately by Lolly Winston *****
20. JPOD by Douglas Coupland
21. Nature Girl by Carl Hiassen
22. Jesus Land by Julia Scheeres *****
23. Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn *
24. Blink by Malcolm Gladwell
25. God Grew Tired of Us by John Bul Dau
26. A Piece of Cake by Cupcake Brown
27. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini *****
28. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
29. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling * (note: only recommended if you like Harry Potter, in which case you’ve likely already read it)
30. Infidel by Ayaan Hirsi Ali *****
31. The Heartless Stone by Tom Zoellner *
32. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood *****
33. The Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon
34. The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
35. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger *
36. Less Than Zero by Bret Easton Ellis
37. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood *
38. I Am America (and so can you) by Stephen Colbert

