I’m back in Paris now. My trip home was really good, but it made coming back to Paris even more difficult. I found myself even reminiscing about the palm trees when Tony was driving me to the airport. For the record: I’ve always hated that there are palm trees everywhere in Northern California. Palm trees are NOT native to the mountains. Unless I’m totally wrong. In that case, I apologize to the palm trees for hating them so much.

Also, I only really got to see my friends for a short time. I wish I could have stayed in Sacramento longer so I could have hung out more. Instead I spent most of the time packing up the rest of my apartment. Oh, don’t get me wrong: I was expecting this. I know Tony is the biggest procrastinator on the planet. Granted, I had hoped he’d surprise me. But who likes surprises?

Good news is the house is pretty much finished and Tony will be here in four days! That means I only have to miss that part of home for a little bit longer.

Oh! One other thing I did while I was at home: I talked to the program advisor for grad school. I went in there with my transcripts expecting the usual, which goes a little something like this:

Boring advisor type: “Hm….you’ve taken a lot of classes here. How many times did you change your major?”

Me: “Well, yes I had a difficult time deciding what I wanted to do. But I really did well in all of the classes I took.”

BAT: “Mm. Hm. And you took 192 units in your undergrad?”

Me: “Well, yes. I think it’s important to have a well-rounded education. I wanted to include the arts in my studies.”

BAT: “I see. And you’re sure this is what you want to do now.” (In his eyes I see the doubt. Him wondering how long it will take me to change my mind. Is this really the type of person we want in our program? he’s asking himself.)

Me: “Um, yeah. I mean yes. Um….”

BAT: “Well maybe you should give it a bit more thought.” (And he looks at me and judges me for being fickle, like it’s a bad thing.)

But that wasn’t the case! It went more like this:

Advisor: “You took a class on espionage and terrorism?”

Me: “It seemed like a good idea at the time. Sounded interesting.” (Thinking: shit here it comes.)

Advisor: “And all these interior design classes?”

Me: “Yeah, it was my major for awhile there. I know I have a pretty varied transcript….”

Advisor: “No, it’s really great. I think it’s important for students to explore other areas of study. It shows that you’re interested in a lot of things. It’s exactly what we want in someone for this program.”

Me: “Uh…uh….uh…great!”

Seriously you guys, I couldn’t have been more shocked. He was so interested in the classes I took and he didn’t even judge me for having taken a million things completely unrelated to my major. He didn’t even ask me why it took me so many units to graduate! AND he was totally stoked that I want to study abroad (considering he went to France and Japan when he was finishing up his schooling). OMG best decision EVER! I’m so excited for grad school now.

Oh, and I found out I can study abroad in either Spain, Germany or Istanbul (Turkey).

I’m totally trying to talk Tony into moving to Turkey with me now. Me, fickle? Ha!

