I’ve been sick and a bit depressed lately, so, like a good American, I go shopping to make myself feel better. I thought I’d share a couple of my good purchases with you all. I’ll keep the not-so-good purchase to myself and give them away as gifts later.

I finally bought a plant today. It’s a pink gerbera daisy plant. I also bought a cute green pot to put it in. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep it alive. If not, I’m definitely not going to be able to talk Tony into getting a westie. Best thing about this purchase (besides it brightening up my apartment and adding a bit of feng shui): It only cost 8 euros, pot included.

Next up is my fab orange juicer. My French family has fresh-squeezed orange juice every morning and I always look at it longingly. Sometimes I even make myself some orange juice at their house when they aren’t home. So I finally broke down and bought my own orange juicer and I’ve had fresh-squeezed orange juice for the past four mornings. I also purchased this item because I have a serious cold and I’m convinced that the Vitaimin C will cure me. (So far it hasn’t).

Yes, that is a gratuitous picture of a baguette. Yum.

Also, because of my cold I’ve had to seriously invest in Kleenex, again. I just have to say how glad I am that, despite my hatred for big corporations, I can find Kleenex with lotion almost anywhere in the world. Really, is there a better tissue out there? I don’t think so.

And, last but not least, I bought a clothes hanger so I can do as much laundry as I want as often as I want. This clothes hanger looks super big, but it folds down to almost nothing and can be slid behind my book shelf or in my closet. Love it, and it was only 15 euros.

Prices in France are really weird though. There are things I think will be super expensive that only end up costing a few euros, while things like towels and hangers cost an absolute fortune. I’ve needed a bath towel since I’ve moved here, but I refuse to buy one because a good-sized towel costs a minimum of 25 euros. Meanwhile, my electric orange juicer only cost 20 euros (which is why I bought it instead). I can’t wait to come home next week and steal a towel and some silverware from my old apartment.

Oh, and I have a new blog on The Nervous Breakdown. It’s about how I got pulled over by the police the other day. You should go read it.

