So this weekend is choc full of stuff. I bought tickets to go to the Salon du Chocolat, which pretty much sounds like heaven on earth. It’s a big chocolate festival where all the chocolatiers in Paris come out to show what’s the newest and best in chocolate. FREE SAMPLES are what I’m looking for here. There’s also the famous chocolate fashion show, where the clothes are made out of chocolate. How the designers keep the clothes from melting is beyond me. There will also be singing and dancing and other stuff because, really, the French can’t have a festival, not even a marathon, without big singing and dancing shows. It’s a little weird and uncomfortable for me at some of the events, but in the case of the chocolate festival I don’t think it will be awkward.

Moving on…then we have the Rugby World Cup final between South Africa and England. SO exciting! I’m a bit bummed though because now what will I do? I’ve spent nearly every weekend here sitting in bars watching the rugby. I suppose I can still spend my weekends sitting in bars, but I think I’ll look a bit more like an alcoholic if I don’t have the rugby excuse…

But, and here’s the sad part, it’s going to be a pain to get to these lovely events. Why? Because, SURPRISE!, France is on strike. Maybe some of you don’t know about this, so I’ll tell you: French people love to go on strike. I’m fairly convinced that strikes are staged here as a way to get additional vacation days (even though the French already get 8 weeks paid vacation every year). So anyway, it’s all of the public transit workers who are on strike, which means no metro for me šŸ˜¦ It also means way more traffic so if I take my car then I won’t be able to find parking and it may take hours to get there šŸ˜¦

Oh, and what I love about the strike is that they scheduled it. They were announcing it on TV and radio for about a week before saying, “Public transit workers will be going on strike beginning Wednesday night at 8 p.m.” Um, couldn’t they have worked out some kind of agreement prior to the strike if they knew the exact time and date of the strike? I’m so confused by this. And this is also why I’m convinced it’s just a ploy to get extra days off.

Anywho, what are you guys up to this weekend???

