So…I have these super old-fashioned heaters in my house. Two of them. One in the main room and one in the bathroom. They look like this:

Old school, yes?

Anyway, when I was sleeping in my sweatshirt and warm socks for the first few days I was here I tried to make these things work, but they hated me. I couldn’t even turn the knob on the one in the bathroom. And the other one just wouldn’t turn on. Luckily, I found a space heater that I have placed directly next to my bed so I can at least be warm at night, but it makes it nearly impossible to get up in the morning.

Cozy bed, or super cold bathroom floor? Um, I’ll take the cozy bed, thank you.

Well, no longer! Today I came home from work and my apartment was miraculously warm and cozy. And then I heard some little clicking and popping noises coming from the main heater. What’s this? I thought. Of course, I immediately ran into the bathroom and tried the knob there just for giggles. And it works too! They’re hot!!!

Apparently in France they turn off the heat for the whole building until October. Maybe to save energy or something. I really don’t know. What I do know is I’ve never been happier to be nearing the month of October. I guess they turned it on a few days early because it’s been pouring down rain for two days now. Maybe some of the other peeps around here started to complain. Me, I just thought it was my apartment so I didn’t see any point in asking about it.

Another reason I’m super happy: I can now cross “space heater for the bathroom” off my shopping list for tomorrow! Woohoo for saving money!

