Here She Is:

I’ve never had a desire to name a car before. Never in my life. But when I saw this one I got the distinct feeling that it was a she and I suddenly wanted to name her. Being unimaginative as I am, I named her Red. I thought of calling her Rouge or Rougie to be a bit more French, but they just didn’t seem to fit for me. Alas, Red it is.

I cannot even begin to tell you the relief I had when I saw this car. I knew I was getting a used car so I was expecting the worst. You know, some beat up old junker. But God has been kind to me, yet again, though I know not why, and gave me this lovely little Peugeot instead. It was a company car for my boss’s husband so it was only allowed to be used for running company errands. And now it’s mine. So, it’s pretty much brand new. A bit dusty though. I’ve got to clean her.

Anyway, I went with the grandfather of my French family to pick it up today, which meant that I had to drive in Paris by myself AND find my house. Just so you know, I pass my own house all the time when I’m walking. So getting lost when I’m going 30 kilometres par heure, well it’s pretty easy. I also had to drive on the freeway for the first time. It wasn’t as scary as I expected it to be though. Maybe it wasn’t a real freeway. It’s what they Parisians call the Peripherique (with a bunch of accents on all those “e”s) because it goes around the whole of Paris, allowing you to avoid all of the city traffic. That is a freeway isn’t it?

Now you all have even one more incentive to come visit me because it means we can take a weekend trip somewhere! Yay!

Okay, here it is. The obligatory new car photo:

Oh, and here’s a bonus:

I just uploaded my pictures from last night and I found this gem:

I’m embarrassed that I look like this. And why is my hand so huge???

