I have friends!

I’ve often thought it was weird for people to meet each other online. I don’t know, something about it just felt creepy and weird to me. But when you live in a city where you never know if someone is going to speak your language or not, it’s kind of nice to have a go-to place to find people. SO I decided to join a couple of online groups, mostly because I was looking for a rock climbing partner and one of the sites popped up when I searched for rock climbing partners online. I joined http://www.meetup.com and http://www.meetin.org.

On each site there are event planners who schedule group meetups and you choose what types of events you want to join. This site is actually how I found out about the Ganesh festival I went to. Anywho, the meetup events so far are crap, but the meetin group is fantastic. I rsvp’d for an event this Friday and the guy planning it e-mailed me to welcome me to the group. He also mentioned in the e-mail that he saw on my profile that I rock climb and he just happened to be going that evening with a bunch of friends! At first I declined the invitation because I didn’t want to spend money and because I was iffy about going.

But on reflection I realized if I was going to be serious about meeting people here then I have to say yes more often than I say no. So I called him back and got the directions for the climbing gym. That’s where I met Beccy (yay a girl who likes to climb, boo for having the same name as me). Anyway, long story short (although it is quite long at this point, sorry about that), I went climbing with them Monday. I went jogging with them yesterday. I have the soiree on Friday and we’re watching the rugby together on Friday!

I hope I’m not the friend that they just can’t seem to get rid of though….I think it may be too early for them to feel that way. At least I hope so.

Moving on….

Driving in Paris!

Today I was seriously afraid for my life. I had to learn how to drive in Paris. No, not only did I have to learn to drive in Paris, but I had to drive through the Charles de Gaule Etoile. If you don’t know, the Etoile is the round-about surrounding the Arc de Triomphe. It’s also one of the most dangerous intersections anywhere because there are 12 (I think) roads that branch off this round-about. This means cars are weaving in and out and trying to get off.

Um, and when was the last time I even drove in a round-about before today. Oh, that’s right: NEVER. Seriously, I was holding my breath through the whole experience. Overall I drove for about two hours today. I had to learn the ways to both of the boys schools so I can take them to and from school each day.

Unfortunately, as you know, but my French family has yet to learn, I have NO sense of direction. I have absolutely no idea where we went or how to get back there. Luckily these two boys have photographic memories so they’ll be able to show me how to get there each day. The problem will be finding my way back home….but that’s for another day. I’m sure you all can’t wait for the blog titled “Lost in Paris!”


One last thing.

I wanted to write about this before but I forgot. On the first Sunday of the month in Paris all of the monuments and museums are free to the public. Being that I’m always super poor I plan to take full advantage of the first Sunday of every month. This is why after the Ganesh festival I went to Musee de L’Orangerie. This is also why there was such a long line to wait. Everyone in Paris goes to the museum when it’s free. The worst though is the Louvre. NEVER go there on the first Sunday of the month. You’ll want to slit your own throat just to end the misery of it all.

But about Musee de L’Orangerie. It is my absolute most favorite museum in all of Paris. That’s saying a lot in a city with more than 100 museums. However, it was closed for the past five years for renovations and only reopened last year so I haven’t been to it since 1999. L’Orangerie is famous for housing Les Nympheas, known to you as Monet’s Lilypads.

When I was younger I never understood why these paintings were so revered. But that was because I was looking at them on a postcard. In the museum they have quite a different feel because they are enormous. The museum was built according to Monet’s instructions, with the paintings covering the walls of two round rooms. The paintings are about 6 ft tall and encircle the entire room. And they look absolutely amazing. In the center of the room there is a group of comfy benches and I could sit there for hours just admiring these paintings.

So, there you have it folks. That’s my adventure for the day. Sorry it was such a long post.

P.S. I stole this blog style from Kaytie (I hope you don’t mind). I think it works better for more than one subject.

