Sorry I haven’t written in a few days. I was crazy busy the last two days and by the time I got home I was too tired to write. But I did want to tell you about the Fête de Ganesh.

The Fête was a big Hindu parade on Sunday celebrating the God Ganesh. He’s the one with the elephant head and the big tummy that you always see at new age shops, thus all the elephants in the photos I took.

It was really cool to experience another culture inside a new culture. All of the Hindi people brought bananas and coconuts with them to offer to Ganesh. I read a lot about the symbolism and the God before I went to the festival, but the only thing I can really remember now is that they broke the coconuts in the street to symbolise offering their heart to Ganesh.

From the Web site:

“la coquille symbolise l’illusion du monde, la chair le Karma individuel, et l’eau l’ego humain, en brisant la noix de coco, on offre son coeur à GANESHA”

“The shell symbolises the illusion of the world, the meat symbolises the Karma of the individual, and the milk is the human ego. By breaking the coconut, one offers their heart to Ganesh.”

I’m not sure what the bananas symbolised though. There were also women walking with clay pots on their head with burning fires inside. I don’t know what that meant either. But it still looked cool.

The weirdest thing though about seeing a parade in Paris was that they didn’t have the street cleared for the parade. There were still cars parked all along the street and the floats and people had to try to fit between them while lookers-on were forced to stand behind vehicles and try to look over them or push their way between two vehicles. It wasn’t even a very big street and it was a Sunday. You’d think they could have closed the road.

They did, however, was the street beforehand because of the Hindis were walking barefoot in the street. I don’t think I’d walk barefoot in a Parisian street even if it was just cleaned. Ick.

My last photo is of one of the guys in a float. People were giving their offerings to him so I’m guessing he was supposed to symbolize Ganesh. His cart had two big ropes attached to the front and he was being pulled by 20 or more men. In between the two lines of men pulling the cart were men playing traditional Indian music. It was very cool. I took a video but I don’t know how to upload it so I just have a picture.

If you want to see better pictures of the festival you can go to their site.

