Being a journalist is a pretty fab thing when you have a press pass. It can get you into just about anywhere. And up until now I’ve been pretty happy with my credentials.

Now, for the first time ever, I’m kicking myself for never bothering to learn how to write about sports. Because if I had, I’d have a WAY better chance of getting in to see the Rugby World Cup. The only sport I’ve ever learned about or bothered watching is having its World Cup right here in my new backyard and I can’t afford tickets! How crappy is that? I spent all day trying to find tickets, which were only 29 euros for the cheap seats. Only, the cheap seats are all sold out. Now all I can get are the tickets that cost like 135 euros. Um, not so much.

There are, however, a number of newly opened sports bars all set up for the event. All of Paris has rugby fever it seems. Or maybe that’s just me. Anyway, I will be spending my Friday night at one of these fab sports bars, trying to con my way into free drinks and cheering for France with everyone else. Who cheers for Argentina anyway? (In case you’re wondering, the first game of the World cup is in Paris on Friday and it’s between France and Argentina)

Seriously though, I’m so bummed that I can’t go to a REAL rugby match and it’s SO close. I think I’ll mention it to my French family. Maybe they know someone who can get me tickets. Maybe someone who works for Radio France.

Fingers crossed.

