Why is it that I wait all year for summer to come, only to complain about the heat once summer finally arrives?

Seriously, nobody should live in the central valley without at least having a friend who owns a swimming pool. It’s the only thing that can keep my sanity during these smoldering days.

Anywho, I have a new blog up on TNB with one quick and easy tip to help you look thin and feel great. I’m not going to give it away here, so you’ll have to go check it out. Oh, and you can leave me a comment there too (PRETTY PLEASE!).

Also, I finished another book (surprise, surprise).

Book 23 (I’m almost halfway to my goal!): Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn

Ella Minnow Pea is a girl living on the island of Nollop, where Nollop is worshipped for having come up with the sentence “The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.” One day the “Z” falls from the Nollop monument and it is interpreted as a posthumus request by Nollop that the people remove all words containing the letter “Z” from their vocabulary.

As more letters begin to fall, the citizens begin to become distraught as they must be careful with every word they say or face severe punishment including lashings or banishment from the island.

This book is cool because as the letters drop, the author ceases to use them in the book as well. It gives us a sense of how difficult it really would be to take a letter out of the alphabet, even the seldom used letters like “Z” and “Q.”

The only trouble I had with the book is that the story is told through letters written among family members. I often got the characters mixed up and didn’t know who was who. I felt like I needed to create a family tree to keep them all straight. But if you just ignore who the characters are and pay attention to the story instead, it’s pretty good.

