Danger Touch Update

The Score:
Melissa, 4
Rebecca, 8

Yesterday Melissa and I went to San Francisco together and saw a surprisingly high number of motorcycles. Unfortunately we also saw a lot of non-motorcycles as well. I still touched some of them, like this vespa:

There was also this super cool old motorcycle:

Seriously, you should only be allowed to drive that one if you’re wearing goggles and a white scarf. Anyway, you can check out the rest of the battle at www.dangertouch.com.

Book 11: Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut

I know I’ll probably create a lot of enemies with this statement, but I’m going to say it anyway: Honestly, if I didn’t know I was supposed to think this was a great literary work I probably wouldn’t have read it. It’s just not my style really. That said, I did think this book was worth reading. I thought the ending was the best part because it spoke volumes about the silliness of war. I didn’t get the whole time travel, Talfamadore thing though. I should take an English class so some crazy teacher can tell me what I’m supposed to get out of all of it.

Best thing about the book: It’s only 110 pages long. That’s doable, even if you don’t like it.

Sea Turtle Adoption

You can be a hero like my BFFL (pictured above) by adopting a baby sea turtle from Costa Rica. Not everyone can take a month off to play with the cute soon-to-be-giants of the sea, but you can help fund the people who are down there keeping the sea turtle populations strong.

ANAI is a non-profit organization (aka not funded by the government) so they depend on donations and volunteers to keep the project running. Since the beginning of this year’s nesting season 131 females have nested in Gandoca (where Sofia and I volunteered last year), creating 243 nests that need protecting. Of those nests 63 are in hatcheries built and manned by volunteers.

The adoption money goes to purchasing tools like scientific thermometers to measure the temperature of the sand, and supplying volunteers with plastic gloves for handling the babies. Money is also used to tag the mommy turtles and to build hatcheries along the beaches. So if you want a baby sea turtle named after you, visit the ANAI sea turtle adoptions Web site. You can also read more about the program here.

