One thing you should know about me is I’m not that into sports. When I get the newspaper, the sports section is the first I throw out. It doesn’t even get a glance from me. And it’s because of this that I really don’t know much about any sports.

But that is changing.

I’m learning about the sport of running. (Don’t argue with me, men, running is a sport that’s been on the olympic list longer than pretty much any other). To be more specific, I’m learning about marathon running, mostly because I’m planning on running one. And it is this newfound knowledge that led me to seek out Deena Kastor, Olympic medalist and fastest woman in America, for an interview. You can read the results of that interview here.

As for marathon running, I’m a little intimidated. I learned, through my research, that I can be subject to a number of ailments including horribly ugly blisters, bloody nipples (from my clothes rubbing against them for 26 miles), and vomiting. None of these sounds very appealing for me, especially considering my only reaction to running so far has been this:

It’s a bit blurry and the lighting isn’t very good, but if you look closely you can see that my face is only red on one side. The right side of my face doesn’t flush, nor does it get warm or sweat. Meanwhile the left side of my face is pumping with blood and feels like it’s on fire and may explode at any moment. It’s actually a bit uncomfortable when it gets really bad (like if it’s hot out AND I’m running). Other than that it really just makes me look like a freak show.

But it was enough to keep me from running for pretty much my entire life up til now. So I don’t know what this whole bleeding tits thing is going to do to my new-found love of running. Hopefully it won’t happen until I actually run a marathon. That way I can say I did it, recover, and vow never to do it again.

For those of you who are interested in either joining me or cheering me on my next two runs are the Sacramento Zoo Zoom (10K) and the Lodi Avenue of the Vines (half-marathon). I suggest at least cheering me on at the half marathon because the finish is at the Woodbridge winery so you can get some drinks while you wait for me.

Now, please go check out my interview with Deena Kastor over at THENERVOUSBREAKDOWN.COM.

