The Fortune Cookie Factory:

There’s a fortune cookie factory about two blocks from my house. Actually it looks more like a house than a factory, but it’s definitely got some major fortune cookie action going on in there.

I run past it every day and it smells delicious. I always want to stop mid-run, go inside, and beg for some fortune cookies. I’d even tell them I don’t need the fortune or the lucky numbers on the back, just the cookie.

Actually, the truth is I really want to go in there on the premise that I’d buy some fortune cookies. But what I really want is to see how they get the fortunes inside the cookies. I know I could probably just look it up on wikipedia or something, but I think it would be way more fun to go in and try to mime my request to the workers there (I’m pretty sure none of them speak English, at least none I’ve ever heard as I’ve been running by).

So what do you think? Do you think if I just walk into the fortune cookie factory one day with my camera and press pass they’ll tell me the secrets of the fortune cookie? Or do you think they’ll yell at me to get out?

I think I might actually frighten them, but one day I’m going to be just bored enough to try it. I can tell already.

Book 4: “Shopaholic and Baby” by Sophie Kinsella

Woohoo, I’m finally getting going on reading all these books. Book 4 was Shopaholic and Baby by Sophie Kinsella. As you all know by now, I’m a huge Sophie Kinsella fan. I’ve read all of her books and absolutely adore them. This one was no exception.

Although I was a little put off by the subject matter at first, considering I’m not a fan of babies, I was drawn right into the book. From the very beginning we get Becky Brandon (nee Bloomwood) doing some of her crazy antics, like trying to sneak a peak at the baby’s gender while the ultrasound operator is out of the room.

The basics of the book are Becky is pregnant and finds out her obstetrician (Venetia Carter) is her husband’s ex-girlfriend. Of course, with her hormones out of wack, and being Becky Bloomwood, she assumes her husband is stepping out with the beautfiul Ms. Carter. And “Cruella de Venetia” does nothing to lessen Becky’s insecurities.

I’ve read all of the Sophie Kinsella books and this was the first one I wanted to read again. I thought it was hilarious and I caught myself laughing out loud a number of times. I think maybe I also found it endearing because it’s a part of life I haven’t experienced yet, but Becky’s experience put me right there as if it were me. Kinsella is still my one and only chick lit author. I hope she comes out with another book soon.

Okay, folks. That’s it for today. Hope you all are well. Only two days to the weekend! Hallelujah!

