Die-ins were staged all over the country yesterday. We had one in Sacramento that I attended. This is what it looked like:

I was highly disappointed though. There were only 30 people out there, and at least five were reporters or photographers. There are 500,000 people in Sacramento and only 30 of them showed up. To me that shows the apathy of our nation. And have to admit that I am now included in this bunch.

Before the war started I was very active in anti-war movements. I was in clubs and volunteer organizations. I went to protests on a monthly basis. I CARED. Today if you mention the word Iraq, I might listen. But more likely my eyes will glaze over. I’ve given up on reading about the war. It’s the same news every day and it’s all so defeating.

We’ve been in this war for 4 years now, and I don’t think it’s going to end anytime soon. And it’s because of people like me, who don’t support the war, but have grown accustomed to being at war. We’re tired of fighting and we’re tired of feeling like we have no say in what goes on in this country.

Even when the vote was up in 2004, half of us voted against the president and it didn’t make one iota of difference. I find it really disappointing, but until the war is over I think we’re all going to continue with our blinders on. We’re to the point that we just want to believe it’s not going on anymore, or that we can’t make a difference anyway.

P.S. I also have another new blog up at THENERVOUSBREAKDOWN.COM. Please go over and take a look. It’s an interview with the founders of Ideal Bite.

