First, as promised I have a new nervous breakdown blog about why my grandmother’s funeral is being postponed. There are also some cool ideas for what you can opt for after death. No longer are we left to choose only burial or cremation. Click here to see what some of the new, somewhat creepy options are.

Now, onto today’s book review: “Naked,” by David Sedaris.

Yes, it’s another memoir. No, I’m not obsessed with memoirs, it just happens to be the “in” thing to publish right now. But this one is definitely worth reading.

This is the first Sedaris book I’ve read (one of his more well-known books is “Me Talk Pretty One Day”), but I plan to read more. “Naked” is set up as a series of short stories about his life, rather than as a long narrative. He chose some really great scenes that show what his family is/was like and what led him to where he is today.

The book starts off with him in grade school and he has all kinds of ticks and obsessive compulsive habits. It’s actually kind of scary to read about what he went through, but somehow funny at the same time.

Two of my favorite scenes have to be when he decided he loved Shakespeare and decides to speak only in Victorian English. I’ve never laughed so hard at the word “vexed.” The second is of him hitchiking across the country. Sedaris never got a drivers license, but wanted to travel so he resorted to hitchiking from state to state. When I was younger I always wanted to try this, but I always worried I’d end up with some weirdo so I never did it. Sedaris quit his own hitchiking ways and opted for the bus when he began getting the weirdos, one of which he describes in the book.

I don’t want to give too much away. You’ll have to read it for yourself, but for those of you who liked “Running With Scissors,” I’d recommend this book. It has the same tone, and you get all the funny scenes with no pedophile scenes.

