Up until now I haven’t been very good about my New Year’s Resolution of reading one book a week, and I blame it on book two, “A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius.” I’ve been reading this book for about three months now and I just can’t bring myself to finish it (and I only have 17 pages left). I’m throwing in the towel though and moving on to better books (hopefully).

As a side note: This is the first book I’ve read by Dave Eggers, and I’ve been told not to judge his other works based on this memoir. Memoirs can be tricky beasts after all.

In the beginning I really enjoyed this book. Eggers actually did have an interesting life and he tells his story in stream-of-consciousness (sp?), which I found to be really interesting…at first. It was the first time I’ve read a book written in this style and I found it to be witty. I could actually see myself thinking the same kinds of things he was thinking as he went through different situations.

But then, as the book goes on, the whole stream-of-consciousness thing becomes really cumbersome. It blocks the flow of the story. It BORES me to tears. I started skipping pages halfway through because I felt like I’d already read most of what he was saying. My eyes glazed over and all I wanted to do was burn this book or throw it out the window. Anything to be finished with it.

I don’t know if I can count it as a book I’ve read, considering I never actually finished it. But I think having read 421 pages should count, don’t you?

Needless to say, I found this book highly disappointing and I don’t recommend it. You can read it’s synopsis on Wikipedia and get about the same amount of information there.

