In my last blog I gave a short synopsis of the recent tragic events of my grandmother’s last years.

The funeral is on Tuesday next week. It will be the first one I’ve attended for a family member. This is not because I’ve never had family die. It’s because the death’s in my family, for the most part, have been on my father’s side. And because my father’s family never had a real affinity for children, we weren’t allowed to attend. This will have been only my second funeral ever. So I’m not exactly sure how I’m supposed to act. I think I’ll manage though.

Anyway, I thought some of you might be interested in reading the most recent article that was written about her, and her son.

For the record, this isn’t my blood grandmother. She was my father’s step-mother, but she was his step-mother for all of my life, so I never knew her as anything but my grandmother.

Also, I have to admit that as a child we weren’t particularly taken with her because she had more rules than we cared to uphold. There were seven of us back then and she and my grandfather lived in a million-dollar house with all white carpet and furniture. They even had white dogs. So basically we went there to swim in the pool and were allowed to touch nothing in the actual house. I learned later in life to appreciate her, and found some things we enjoyed doing together (mostly crossword puzzles and reading the newspaper), but for the most part we all spent time wishing we didn’t have to visit. Of course, I regret that now, but it’s too late for regrets.

My father, however, adored her. He was just about the only person in the family that could stand her frankness. My family says he’s taking it pretty hard. He was really devastated when contact with her was cut off. He even took in my grandmother’s mother for awhile when Nema (my grandma) disappeared. I guess he just wanted some kind of contact with that part of his family. After all, he had just lost his father and then he had his stepmom taken away from him too.

I don’t know, I’m really just rambling now. I’ve just been thinking a lot about it and looked up the story on the whole situation. Elder abuse is something that just seems wrong to the core.

As you all know, I’m not a big fan of old people, but I don’t think I could ever steal my parent’s life savings and leave them living in an unfurnished apartment with no caregivers. I mean, they spent at least 18 years raising me (and in reality will have spent some 40 years raising children by the time they’re through), is it really that inconvenient for me to give up maybe six or seven years taking care of them?

