I pretty much hate chick lit, but there is one author who, despite being placed in this genre, has made it into the heart of this book snob.

Sophie Kinsella won me over with her first book, “Shopaholic,” in which Becky Bloomwood tries all sorts of crazy schemes to get herself out of debt. I fell in love with this book because I connected so well with the main character. At the time, I was trying to get out of debt myself (still haven’t succeeded) and had tried many of the same things. I literally laughed out loud when I read this book. The only thing I found a bit disappointing was that she meets a rich guy and they fall in love. Sorry ladies, we can’t all have it that way (and this is why I usually hate chick lit books).

The shopaholic series went on for several books and I devoured them as quickly as I possibly could. Then Kinsella released “Can you keep a secret?” and “The Undomestic Goddess,” both of which I found just as hilarious as the adventures of Becky Bloomwood.

I hate to admit it, but I’m even on Sophie Kinsella’s newsletter list. I’m seriously a fan in the worst sense of the word. AND I’M GOING TO MEET HER THIS WEEK! That’s right folks, I don’t get stoked that Mandy Moore is seated only ten feet from me. I don’t freak out about meeting famous singers or movie stars. But I get totally crazy over a book author. What kind of freak am I?

Anyway, anybody who wants to see me beg for a picture and nervously ask about having a book signed, you are welcome to join me. She will be appearing at Macy’s Downtown Plaza on Thursday evening at 5:30 (Melissa is this right?).

