In the weeks leading up to quitting my job I had a few meetings with my boss/es.

In said meetings I was made to feel as though my writing is sub-par.

I was told my writing was “C-level,” “Ho Hum” and “Frankly, not great.”

This was in addition to being told I was hired despite the fact that my clips were really bad.

They said they hired me because they could see I had potential “but I just haven’t got there yet.”

I don’t know if the idea was to make me feel as though I needed the newspaper in order to make it as a writer.

But it had the opposite effect.

It made me feel completely unappreciated at work, as though my work wasn’t even fit to be printed.

It wasn’t until after I turned in my notice that my boss reviewed some of my more recent clips with me and told me “actually your stuff really isn’t bad.”

Gee, thanks.

Anyway, the point of telling you all this is that I’ve been feeling like maybe I should pursue a different path. I’ve been thinking I won’t be able to find any work as a freelance writer, especially if my clips aren’t very good.

I’ve been taking a weekend TEFL (ESL teacher) course. And I’ve applied at a couple school districts to substitute teach.

It made me think of my something my dad used to say when I told him I wanted to be a teacher.

“Those who can, do. Those who can’t, teach.”

Basically, I’ve felt like I’m a complete failure at one of the things I most wanted to do with  my life.

But today I learned that all is not lost.

I secured my first TWO freelance writing jobs!

Neener neener neener. (I realize this is juvenile but I feel so much better knowing I may have a fighting chance.)

Now all I have to do is follow through …with a deadline of Feb. 7 it could be difficult.

