There always seems to be an awkward stage in the beginning of a relationship, when both parties are unsure of whether they have become a “we.”

In the beginning of Tony’s and my relationships Sofia used to say, “You two are so unofficial you’re official.”

But being a commitment-phobic serial monogamist, an oxymoron to be sure, I was in denial.

Now, even after nearly a year and living with the man there are still times I catch myself being surprised by our “officialness.”

I had one of those moments this week, when I put up a framed picture of us together.

The only man of whom I’ve ever had framed photos on my wall has been Donald.

I used to have dozens of framed photos of us — engagement photos, vacation photos, family portraits…well, you get the picture (haha).

I kept most of them up for about a year after we separated.

But since I moved out of Justin’s house in May I’ve kept them boxed up.

My walls have been void of any framed photos of friends or family.

I haven’t put them up out of respect for Tony.

And I haven’t replaced the photos in the frames because I didn’t know how long things would really last with Tony.

I couldn’t bear to replace the photos, then have to replace them again a few months later.

But for Christmas one of my grandmothers gave me a picture frame and I decided it was time to finally put up a picture of Tony and I.

First I had to go get one printed though.

I’ve gotten used to the ease of deleting digital photos.

It’s a lot less messy when a breakup happens.

But I think being together nearly a year and moving in together pretty much says we’ll be a “we” awhile longer.

At least that’s the hope.

So, as I told Sofia when I put the picture up, “It’s so official now.”

In related news, Donald told me last night that his mom finally took down our wedding pictures. There’s a weird coincidence in being official. When the rents take down the pics you know there’s no going back.

In other news, I’m going to be looking for freelance work, but want to put together a Web site/resume. I’m having trouble coming up with a URL. Could some of you more creative people help me out with some ideas?

Oh, and the minimum wage increase made my Quizno’s kids meal go from $3.49 to $3.99 ($4.30 with tax). It’s time to start making my lunch again.

