I know people say all the time that car insurance is a scam because you pay into it and then as soon as you actually use it they hike up your rate. But this rant is not dedicated to car insurance.

I have medical, vision and dental insurance. I’ve had them for three months and haven’t used one. Not only do I not have the time to find a doctor in these three areas, but with a full time job how am I supposed to actually go to an appointment without taking time off work? What’s the point of having insurance if I can’t even use it? I desperately need a new pair of glasses and it’s time for my six-month checkup at the dentist, but I can’t afford to take time off work and doctor’s aren’t open after hours.

I feel like I should just cancel my insurance plans. I’m paying some crazy amount (like $60 a month) for something I can’t even use. That money could go toward paying off my debt or something. Am I the only one with this dilemma?

