Lately I’ve been hearing a lot about community art projects. They fascinate me. A woman in Davis places a canvas outside her booth at the farmers market and leaves paint and a paint brush nearby so customers and passersby can leave their mark as they drift past. It ends up being a melange and sometimes very abstract.

Then last week I heard of an online photo project started by a woman in Australia. She publishes a list of 26 things and sends photographers on a scavenger hunt to find photo representations of those items. They get one months to find each item on the list.

Since I’ll be gone for one month I’ve decided to give you all an assignment. I’m giving you a list of 30 things, one for each day I’m gone, to find and photograph during that time. You can send me your photos by message or post them on my blog. When I return I’ll make a compilation of my favorites for each item on the list.

The only catch is YOU HAVE TO TAKE THE PICTURES YOURSELF. Please use integrity with this contest.

AND I’ll be participating too. I’m going to try to find each item while in Costa Rica and I’ll be posting them as I find them, internet-permitting.

Here’s an example of how this project works:

The word is “match.”

Now for THE LIST:

summer
instrument
country
space
foam
chocolate
drop
save
single
energy
fast
half full
release
far from
addiction
medium
fish
hydration
home
smooch
book
green
five
clear
feel good
greek
rings
trail
turtle
fruit

Don’t be afraid to be creative. Try to think of different ways the word can be interpreted. And have fun!

See you when I get back.

