Bicyclists throughout the world take part in a monthly event known as Critical Mass. The movement was started in San Francisco in 1992 as a statement about commuting, traffic and cyclists right to the road. It has since grown to include nearly every major city in the United States, with cyclists taking part nearly every month to clog traffic with their bicycles and show cities the need for bike-friendly roads and pathways.

I’ve reached a critical mass of my own.

My favorite pairs of pants no longer fit well. Not wanting to admit defeat I bought a couple pairs of gaucho pants and skirts with elastic waistbands. My running has slowed severely in the past couple weeks because of the moving and stress of changing jobs. Not only that, but I’ve become increasingly lazy and unmotivated.

Getting on the scale last night and searching for clothes for work have changed that though. I’m going to have to begin running again on a daily basis and hopefully eat more healthful foods. It seems like I’ve turned to sugary foods as my only option lately. They must have a higher satiety level than other foods – that or I have an intense addiction to sugar.

Today’s the day I put it in writing. You all know I’ve made this commitment so now I can’t give up.

PS The change starts tomorrow. WHAT?!?!?! I have plans tonight. But I promise I’ll run tomorrow.

And eat carrots.

