I thought I was over being anti. I thought I was done being bitter and jaded. I was wrong. I got some news tonight that upset me only because the bearer of the news was someone I deeply care for. Deep down I want to be glad for this person and I will do my best to show my support, but I feel there is no way this person could have expected me to react any differently than I did. Within my own reaction and the thoughts I had afterward, I realized I still have A LOT of healing to do and there are A LOT of  things I will NEVER look at the same way again.

Here’s a short list:

Anti-BUSH – No explanation needed. But if you want one, check this out.

Anti-WALMART – Haven’t shopped there since I saw the movie “The High Cost of Low Price” last year. I recommend seeing the movie. If you don’t believe it, my town is suffering from exactly what they talk about in that movie. The bookstore across the street from my office is closing because it can no longer compete. The bookstore has been in business for more than 20 years.

Anti-MARRIAGE – First, been there, done that. Second, I feel like in relationships it is often the woman who has to give up her goals. I’m a woman who’s unwilling to do so. Therefore, I’m anti-marriage. Until I find a man who’s willing to aid me in reaching my goals rather than trying to talk me out of succeeding or keeping me tied to a place where I won’t succeed, I will keep this opinion.

Anti-CHILDREN – Children are way too much work. I’ve already raised six kids. I don’t need any of my own. I’m way too selfish. I don’t need something tying me down. Also, no husband equals no kids. Honestly, who could afford kids on $9 an hour anyway?

Anti-RELIGION – I don’t like people telling me what to do. I’ve spent a good deal of my life trapped in a religion that taught me to be closed-minded and ignorant of the rest of the world. I also don’t think everyone has to believe the exact same thing. We’re not drones. We’re people. I want to live my life, not be afraid to live it.

Anti-BYU: Why you ask? Well, here’s an excerpt from the encyclopedia about them. Note the highlighted statistics. I find them highly disturbing because of their strong resemblance to the 1950s, when women were meant to give up their dreams and goals to become wives and mothers. Why, even today, are men not able to concede – to give up their goals to help a woman realize her potential? Why must it be vica versa?

“BYU’s social and cultural atmosphere is unique. The high rate of enrollment at the University by members of the LDS Church results in an amplification of LDS cultural norms which are often caricatured.

One of the characteristics of BYU most often pointed out is its reputation for emphasizing a “marriage culture”. LDS Church members highly value marriage and family, as well as marriage within the faith. Consequently, the enormous population of LDS single adults in and around Provo makes it a mecca for singles in the church, irrespective of their affiliation with BYU. BYU’s reputation as a place to court potential mates is well known both within and without the BYU community, and is encouraged to some extent by the school’s administrators and ecclesiastical leaders, who publicly highlight “successful” marriage statistics.

Most BYU students are acutely aware of the marriage stereotype, and many female students contribute to it by dropping out before graduation due to marriage and subsequent pregnancy. 56.3% of the men and 42.4% of the women in BYU’s class of 2004 were married (the average age at graduation being 24.3). An earlier study ending in 1990 showed that 65% of matriculated male students ended up graduating, while the rate among matriculated female students was only 35%. Marriage statistics for the state of Utah as a whole indicate that BYU’s marriage rate falls well within that of the state in general, with the median age at marriage in Utah being 23 for men, and 21 for women. It should be noted, however, that the percentage of married students at BYU is much higher than at most other universities, and the median age of marriage in Utah is significantly lower than in the United States as a whole. In regard to marriage, BYU is thus best described as a reflection of the cultural practices of the Mormon population as a whole (and particularly that of the Mountain West, which is significantly more culturally conservative than Mormon populations elsewhere within the United States), rather than as an outlier.

BYU’s large body of students who have served as missionaries for the LDS Church significantly shapes the institution’s culture. Young men are strongly encouraged to serve full-time two-year missions for the LDS Church after turning 19. Consequently, men typically attend BYU for their freshman year and then take a two year break from school to serve a mission. Thus, the average male sophomore at BYU is 21 years old. Although LDS women can also serve full-time missions, the church does not press them to do so. Additionally, missions for LDS females are only 18 months in duration, and females may not serve full-time missions until after reaching 21 years of age.”

Did you connect the dots?

Bring on the slaughter. I know not everyone agrees with me on almost all of these things. I don’t expect you to. I’m blowing off steam. I’m disheartened at the moment. So bring it on.

PS What are you anti? Please don’t say either democrats or republicans. I can’t deal with people who lump everyone into one group right now.

