I had been waiting to see Memoirs of a Geisha until I read the book, but I finally caved in this weekend and watched it (I was sick and home alone, what do you expect?). Overall I really enjoyed the movie. I like movies like this one that document one persons struggle, while simultaneously documenting one small aspect of a cultures history.

Watching this movie, as with many of its kind, made me realize how lucky we are to be living in the United States in 2006. It made me wonder what it would have been like to have lived in a time where women were treated as property bought, sold and traded with no decision-making power of their own. I would have felt so helpless and hopeless.

In Memoirs the women are pitted against each other and must compete to become the new Geisha. It causes much hatred and betrayal among the women and carries through years later when the Geisha culture has been destroyed by World War II. Its a pretty intense story, especially from a womans viewpoint. I also enjoy the underlying love story, although I felt the ending was a bit contrived mainly because they made it happen too quickly.

They spend the entire movie telling the story of this womans life and her love for one man. Its very in-depth. Then suddenly its over. I felt like there should have been more lead-up on his part. We knew she was in love, but there was no history of this guy or how he felt. Hm. This is why I should read the book.

PS I cannot believe how beautiful the women are in this movie. Their skin looks absolutely perfect. Its worth watching just to see the dance scenes.

