“Speak your mind, even if your voice shakes.”

I saw this quote on a bumper sticker while driving to my interview today. I didn’t think much of it at the time, other than “That’s SO me.” But after I wrote my last blog I was so upset I decided to approach my boss. I never do this because I worry about every move I make there, but in this case it had to be done. I just decided it was time to be a grown up.

I asked my boss if we could talk in his office and when we sat down the first thing he asked was whether I was turning in my notice. I told him no, but I also told him I was going to be applying at the Vallejo paper because I knew they may have an opening coming up. We talked for awhile and he said he’d try to get me and the other reporters a raise. He also suggested I put in some extra hours at the office as a way to raise my pay. He was very understanding and made me feel a little bit better. My voice was super shaky and I was on the verge of tears, but I’m so glad I did it. I don’t know that a $1 an hour raise will really help but it’s nice to know that he would be willing to go to bat for me.

In addition to that, the producer for our “newscast” overheard me talking to our other reporter about my situation and told me she has an empty room in her house that she’d be willing to let me occupy, rent-free. If I take the offer that will save me $400 at the beginning of next month when my money for Costa Rica is due! Although it would be a little weird living with a mother figure again, it will be a huge ease on my conscience to not have to worry about rent or Costa Rica for a bit. It would mean I could keep my job AND do the conservation project!

I also recently discovered a credit card I didn’t know I had. That gives me $400 more for Costa Rica and Sofia said if I promise I’m still going she’ll donate $500!  That means I’m only about $600 off from going!

I think I should take the room, even if it is awkward for a few months. I’m not home very often anyway and it would save me a huge amount of money. I really just need someplace to store my stuff anyway.

I can’t believe how quickly things can change around. Life always amazes me.

Like my big sis always says, “Everything happens for a reason.” Everything really does work out, even if it’s not the way we had planned for it to.

PS Thanks everyone for all of the support lately. I can’t wait for things to really turn out well.

PPS I’ve been drinking wine so if this is a little weird please bear with me.

