I woke up this morning in a funk. Honestly, I don’t know what kind of person one has to be to wake up and be upset first thing in the morning, but that person was me today. I tried thinking happy thoughts and pretending I was happy, but it just wasn’t working.

I decided to just get ready for work and hope that my walk to work would cheer me up, and it did. Not the walk necessarily, but the soundtrack for my walk.

The first song to play on my iPod was by Frente!, one of my favorite bands to listen to when I ‘m feeling down. I would have never chosen it myself, which is why shuffle is such a great invention.

It’s not that Frente! is the best band ever.  Their music is just very upbeat and cheerful sounding, and even when their songs are about sad subjects they  make me want to sing along. Plus, who couldn’t love a band that has an exclamation mark as part of their name? That alone makes them a cheerful band.

The real reason I love Frente! though is that it reminds me of high school, hanging out with Eileen and singing along to all of these songs. I’m listening to the CD right now and I can remember a time when Eileen and I knew the lyrics to all of these songs. We probably could have sung half of them without the music. I miss the times when life was just about school, hanging out with friends and hoping for the future. My biggest problem back then was dealing with my parents.

It’s funny, when I was younger my parents used to always tell me not to grow up so fast because I’d be wishing in a few years that I could be right back in high school living carefree. I hate when my parents are right.

Sorry, got off on a tangent there. I’m going to keep this Frente! disc playing for awhile. I recommend you all check out their stuff. It’s kind of girlie, so I don’t know how many of you guys will like it. I love them though. Thanks Eileen for introducing them to me back when we were 14. You’ve always had a great sense of music.

Here’s to fighting the funk.

